Alaska Medical Marijuana Card Laws
June 17, 2016
Alaska Medical Marijuana Card
1. Patients are required to obtain legitimate medical records or documentation from their primary care physician describing the diagnosis of their qualifying condition.
2. To qualify, an Alaska patient needs to be diagnosed by a physician as having one of the following debilitating medical conditions that is specifically identified by the law:
– Cancer, glaucoma, HIV/AIDS, or treatment for any of these conditions or
– Any chronic or debilitating disease or treatment of such diseases, which produces, for a specific patient, one or more of the following: cachexia; chronic or severe pain; severe nausea; seizures, including those that are characteristic of epilepsy; or persistent muscle spasms, including those that are characteristic of multiple sclerosis.
3. Patients are required to obtain a signed Physician’s Statement from a physician, currently licensed to practice medicine in Alaska — *Find a certified medical marijuana physician in Alaska
4. In order to obtain a medical marijuana card in Alaska, patients are required to register with the Alaska Bureau of Vital Statistics, Marijuana Registry.
5. When submitting an application, ensure to include:
The original completed copy of the attached application form (photocopies will NOT be accepted) that includes the following:
– The patient-applicant’s name, mailing address, physical address, date of birth, and Alaska driver’s license number or Alaska identification card number;
– The name, address, and telephone number of the patient’s physician;
– The name and address of the patient’s primary caregiver, if one is designated at the time of application; and
– The applicant’s signature.
6. * Please note: If the patient is a minor, the submission MUST include an original statement in writing (photocopies will NOT be accepted), from the minor’s parent or legal guardian residing in Alaska, stating that:
– The parent/guardian consents to serve as the minor’s primary caregiver; and that
– The parent/guardian grants permission for the minor to engage in the medical use of marijuana;
7. Ensure to include the original signed physician’s statement (photocopies will NOT be accepted — certified copies are permissible), stating that the patient has been diagnosed with a qualifying debilitating medical condition for which, in the physicians opinion, the patient may benefit, from the medical use of marijuana.
8. The application fee for an initial request, is $25 — the yearly renewal fee thereafter, is $20. The application fee, in either the form of a money order or check (payable to the Bureau of Vital Statistics), must be mailed in with the application.
9. Applications must be submitted to: Alaska Bureau of Vital Statistics
Alaska Marijuana Registry
P.O. Box 110699
Juneau, AK 99811-0699
Website: Alaska Marijuana Registry Online