California Medical Marijuana Card Laws
June 17, 2016
California Medical Marijuana Card
As per California medical marijuana law, the state Department of Public Health established a voluntary medical cannabis ID system, to issue medical marijuana cards (also referred to as cannabis cards, pot cards, or marijuana cards), to qualified patients with a doctors recommendation. California’s medical marijuana law was amended with Senate Bill 420, adding additional protections, to the Compassionate Use Act.
The Medical Marijuana Program (MMP) provides a voluntary medical marijuana identification card and registry program, to qualified patients and their caregivers. The registry system allows for the validiation and verification qualified patients, or caregiver’s, medical marijuana status. A medical marijuana card authorizes the patient or caregiver to use, possess, cultivate, transport, and/or use, medical marijuana. While it is advisable, it is NOT mandatory for patients to obtain a Medical Marijuana Identification Card, in order to receive the full legal protection, of California’s Medical Marijuana law.
HOW TO GET A MEDICAL MARIJUANA CARD
1. Patients are advised to obtain legitimate medical records or documentation from their primary care physician describing the diagnosis of their qualifying condition —
2. To qualify, a California patient needs to be diagnosed by a physician as having one of the following medical conditions that is identified by the law:
– Chemotherapy Side Effects
– Chronic Pain
– Migraine Headaches
– Multiple Sclerosis
– Radiation Therapy Side Effects
– And, any other chronic or persistent medical symptom that substantially limits the ability of the person to conduct one or more major life activities (as defined by the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990) or, if not alleviated, may cause serious harm to the patient’s safety or physical or mental health
3. Patients are required to obtain a signed Physician’s Statement from a physician, currently licensed to practice medicine in California — *Find a certified medical marijuana physician in California
4. Once a patient has obtained a written certification from a physician licensed in the state of California, patients are required to register with the California Department of Public Health, Public Health Policy and Research Branch, Medical Marijuana Program Unit.
5. To register, complete th Application/Renewal Form CDPH 9042
6. Submit the application form to your country health department (addresses listed below), along with the following:
– A government-issued photo identification card
– Proof of county residence, such as a rent/mortgage receipt, utility bill, or motor vehicle registration
– Written documentation from your doctor recommending the use of medical marijuana
– Application fee (varies by county – see below)
7. Upon registration, patients will receive a medical marijuana I.D. card.
COST OF A MEDICAL MARIJUANA IDENTIFICATION CARD IN CALIFORNIA
The MMP is administered by each individual count, so therefore fees vary by county. The state cost of the Medical Marijuana Identification Card (MMIC) application fee is currently set at $66 per card for non Medi-Cal patients, and $33 per card for Medi-Cal patients. There is an additional administration fee, determined by each county individually.
Please contact your local county program, for the exact fee amount, in your area.
* Please note: If your application for a Medical Marijuana Indentification Card is denied, you may file an appeal. There is NO cost for submitting an appeal. Complete and submit an Appeals Form directly to the California Department of Public Health (CDPH), within 30 calendar days from the date of your denial notcie, that you recieved from your county program. Attach a copy of your denied applicatio, to the Appeals Form, and mail to: California Department of Public Health
County Health Services Branch
Medical Marijuana Program
P.O. Box 997413
Sacramento, CA 95899-7413
*** Be sure to sign and date your Appeals Form. By signing your appeals form, you are giving your consent to have your county program release all information they have in your application file, to the CDPH. This information will be used to evaluate your appeal. A notice of the decision regarding your appeal will be sent to you and your county’s program. All appeal decisions by the CDPHs Medical Marijuana Program are FINAL. Your application may be denied if you failed to provide all the required information, your county program determined the application information was false, or you did not meet the requirements for being a qualified patient or primary caregiver. For more information about denials, see Health and Safety Code Section 11362.74 ***