Connecticut Medical Marijuana Card Laws
June 17, 2016
Connecticut Medical Marijuana Card
In order to be afforded legal protection of the Connecticut Medical Marijuana law, qualified medical marijuana patients must register with the state patient registry and possess a valid identification card by submitting a marijuana card application to the Department of Consumer Protection. All registration fees collected by the department under this subsection, shall be paid to the State Treasurer, and credited to the account established.
How to Get a Medical Marijuana Card in Connecticut
1. Patients must be 18 years of age, and be a Connectiut resident.
2. Patients are required to obtain legitimate medical records or documentation from their primary care physician describing the diagnosis of their qualifying condition —
3. Obtain legitimate medical records or documentation from your primary care physician describing their diagnosis —
4. Patients are required to get a signed Physician’s Statement from a physician, currently licensed to practice medicine in Connecticut — *Find a certified medical marijuana physician in Connecticut
5. To qualify, a patient needs to be diagnosed by a physician as having one of the following debilitating medical conditions that is specifically identified in the law:
– Cancer, glaucoma, HIV/AIDS, Parkinson’s disease, multiple sclerosis, damage to the nervous tissue of the spinal cord with objective neurological indication of intractable spasticity, epilepsy, cachexia, wasting syndrome, Crohn’s disease, post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)
* Effective March 14, 2016, the Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection, announced six additional qualifying conditions:
– Sickle cell disease, post laminectomy syndrome with chronic radiculopathy (failed back surgery syndrome resulting in reoccuring back pain), severe psoriasis and psoriatic arthritis, amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, ulcerative colitis, and complex regional pain syndrome.
6. The registration certificate application is available online, and requires 3 steps:
– The physician must initiate the registration process by logging into a secure, online system and certifying the patient;
– After the physician electronically submits a valid certification, the patient may access the online system to complete the patient portion, of the application;
– If the physician certifies the need for a primary caregiver, the caregiver may log in after the patient, and complete the relevant application;
7. An inmate confined in a correctional institution or facility under the supervision of the Department of Correction will NOT qualify, regardless of their medical condition.
8. Submit the application with the application fee of $100, payable in the form of check or money order — applications are nonrefundable — to: Connecticut Medical Marijuana Program
Department of Consumer Protection (DCP)
165 Capitol Avenue, Room 145
Hartford, CT 06106