Maine Medical Marijuana Card Laws
June 17, 2016
Maine Medical Marijuana Card
Maine Medical Marijuana law established the Maine Patient Registry, a voluntary registry identification program. In addition, out of state medical marijuana register cards, are accepted in Maine.
* The Maine Marijuana Registry is voluntary.
“In addition to either a registry ID card or a physician certification form, all patients, including both non-registered and voluntarily registered patients, must also present their Maine driver license or other Maine-issued photo identification card to law enforcement, upon request.” Program Bulletin, [Accessed September 28, 2011]
* Out of State’s registry cards are accepted in Maine.
“Law enforcement will accept appropriate authorization from a participating state, but that patient cannot purchase marijuana in Maine without registering here. That requires a Maine physician and a Maine driver license or other picture ID issued by the state of Maine. The letter from a physician in another state is only good for 30 days.” Maine’s Division of Licensing and Regulatory Stories — Email received August 19, 2010.
The Maine Patient Registry fee is $0 for patients. For caregivers however, the fee is $300 per patient, with a limit of five patients — however, if the caregiver is not growing, the fee is waived.
HOW TO GET A MEDICAL MARIJUANA CARD IN MAINE
- First, you need a signed Physician’s Statement from a physician, currently licensed to practice medicine in Maine — *Find a certified
- To qualify, a patient needs to be diagnosed by a physician as having one of the following debilitating medical conditions that is specifically identified in the law: Cancer, HIV/AIDS, glaucoma, hepatitis C, Crohn’s disease, amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, nail-patella syndrome, Alzheimer’s disease, cachexia or wasting syndrome, severe nausea, chronic intractable pain, severe and persistent muscle spasms including multiple sclerosis, and seizures including epilepsy. And post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD), effective June 26, 2013.
- Patients must be 18 years of age, and be a Maine resident.
- The Maine Patient Registry is optional, however patients interested in registering shoud visit the Maine Department of Health and Human Services:
- If you choose to register, the application form must be completed and signed by the patient or the patient’s parent or legal guardian.
- The physician certification form must be completed by a physician who has a bona fide patient-physician relationship with the patient.
- The physician will give the patient a signed and dated original certification form, printed on tamper resistant paper.
- The physician shall determine the expiration date of the certification. The physician can use a period of 12 months or less, based upon his or her professional judgment.
- Patients must attach a copy of their Maine driver’s license to the application. If the patient has no driver’s license, another Maine-issued photo identification card will be accepted. * Note: No photo identification card is required for a hospice patient or a nursing home resident.
- The Maine Patient Registry fee is $0 — Maine Medical Marijuana Program Application Form — patients who voluntarily register with the Department, MUST attach a copy of their physician certification form to their application for a registry identification card.
- For caregivers, the fee is $300 per patient, with a limit of five patients — if the caregiver is not growing, the fee is waived.
- If the patient is a minor, or an adult with a court-appointed guardian or a durable power of attorney, Section 2 — MMMP Application Form, must be completed. A copy of guardianship or durable powers of attorney must be attached to the application.
- Maine Medical Use of Marijuana Program (MMMP)
Division of Licensing and Regulatory Services
Department of Health and Human Services
ATTN: Maine Medical Use of Marijuana Program
11 State House Station
Augusta, ME 04333