Michigan Medical Marijuana Card Laws
June 17, 2016

Michigan Medical Marijuana Card
Under Michigan medical marijuana law, medical marijuana patients must register with the Michigan Medical Marihuana Program (MMMP) to obtain a Medical Marihuana Registry Identification Card, also referred to as medical marijuana card, cannabis card or medical pot card. The MMMP contends that only a person with a qualifying debilitating medical condition who has obtained a valid MMMP registry card is exempt from criminal laws of the state for engaging in the medical use of marijuana. Registration is mandatory.
Out-of-state registry cards are accepted in Michigan:

“Cards from other states are recognized. However, the Michigan Medical Marihuana Program does not have any control over enforcement of that section of the statute.”

HOW TO OBTAIN A MEDICAL MARIJUANA CARD IN MICHIGAN

  1. Patients must obtain legitimate medical records or documentation from their primary care physician describing the diagnosis —
  2. Patients need a signed , currently licensed to practice medicine in Michigan — *Find a certified medical marijuana physician in Michigan
  3. Patients must be a Michigan resident, with a valid proof of residency.
  4. To qualify, a patient needs to be diagnosed by a physician as having one of the following debilitating medical conditions that is specifically identified in the law:
    • Cancer, glaucoma, HIV/AIDS, hepatitis C, amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, PTSD (post-traumatic stress disorder), Crohn’s disease, agitation of Alzheimer’s disease, or nail patella.
    • A chronic or debilitating disease or medical condition or its treatment that produces one or more of the following:
    • Cachexia or wasting syndrome;
    • severe and chronic pain
    • Severe nausea
    • Seizures, including those characteristic of epilepsy; or
    • Severe and persistent muscle spasms, including those characteristic of multiple sclerosis
    • and, any other medical condition or treatment for a medical condition adopted by the department by rule.
  5. Patients are required to register with the Michigan Medical Marihuana Program (MMMP). Registration is mandatory.
  6. The patient registry application fee is $60 — for both new and renewal applications.
  7. Fill out the appropriate application:
    Have a Michigan Licensed MD or DO complete and sign the Physician Certification form, which is included in the application form above.

  8. Mail the application and Physician Certification to the Michigan Department of Community Health (MDCH) along with the following documents:
    • Copy of Patient’s Photo Identification
    • Copy of Patient’s Photo Identification
    • Caregiver Attestation (if applicable; included in the application form)
    • Copy of Caregiver’s Photo Identification (if applicable)
    • A check or money orderin the amount of the application (or a reduced fee of $25.00 if currently enrolled in Medicaid or receiving SSI or SSD* ) made payable to State of Michigan—MMMP.  *** If you are submitting a reduced fee, you must also include a copy of documentation verifying receipt of Medicaid, SSI or SSD (i.e. Award Letter, MI Health Card, most recent SSA-1099, etc.) ***
  9. Submit application to:

Michigan Medical Marijuana Program

Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs
Bureau of Professional Licensing
PO Box 30083
Lansing, MI 48909
Phone: 517-284-6400
Email: BHP-MMMPINFO@michigan.gov
Website: Michigan Medical Marihuana Program

* Your application will be approved or denied within 15 days of receipt by the MDCH. Please remember to retain a copy of your application for your files.