Minnesota Medical Marijuana Card Laws
June 17, 2016
Minnesota Medical Marijuana Card
In order to be afforded legal protection under the Minnesota Medical Marijuana law, qualified medical marijuana patients must register with the state patient registry and possess a valid state-issued identification card by submitting a medical marijuana card application to the Minnesota Department of Health.
Effective May 30th, 2014, the State of Minnesota will begin recognizing the value of medical cannabis for treating chronic and debilitating conditions that have been outlined.
A Minnesota medical marijuana card is a personal identification card issued by the Department to a qualifying patient, personal caregiver, or dispensary agent. The Minnesota medical marijuana card verifies that a physician has provided a written certification to the qualifying patient, and that the patient has designated an individual as a personal caregiver, or a medical treatment center has met the terms of law. For purposes of the Department and law enforcement, the medical marijuana card identifies those individuals who are exempt from Minnesota criminal and civil penalties, for conduct pursuant to the medical use of marijuana.
Please note: that in order to remain consistent with federal oversight of interstate commerce, Minnesota’s medical marijuana legislation restricts program eligibility to Minnesota residents and Minnesota-licensed health care practitioners only.
Incapacitated patients, or minors, will be able to join the patient registry so as long as the Commissioner of Health approves and registers a designated caregiver for a patient if the patient’s health care provider certifies that the patient is unable to self-administer medication.
HOW TO GET A MEDICAL MARIJUANA CARD IN MINNESOTA
- Patients are required to obtain legitimate medical records or documentation from their primary care physician describing the diagnosis of their qualifying condition —
- Patients are required to obtain a signed Physician’s Statement from a physician, currently licensed to practice medicine in Minnesotta — *Find a certified
- Patients must be 18 years of age, and be a Minnesotta resident, with a valid proof of residency.
- To qualify, a patient needs to be diagnosed by a physician as having one of the following debilitating medical conditions that is specifically identified in the law:
- Cancer, associated with severe or chronic pain, nausea or severe vomiting, or cachexia or severe wasting syndrome
- Tourette’s syndrome
- ALS (amyotrophic lateral sclerosis) or Lou Gehrig’s Disease
- Seizures, including those characteristic of Epilepsy
- Severe and persistent muscle spasms
- Multiple sclerosis
- Crohn’s disease
- Terminal illness with a life expectancy of less than one year: if your illness or its treatment produces one or more of the following: severe or chronic pain; nausea or severe vomiting; or cachexia or severe wasting
- Intractable pain, effective August 2016.
- Patients are required to register with the Minnesotta Department of Health. Registration is mandatory.
- The patient registry application fee is $200 annually. For patients on Social Security disability, Supplemental Security Insurance, or enrolled in MinnesotaCare, the fee is $50.
- Submit applications to:
Minnesota Department of Health
Office of Medical Cannabis
Phone: 844-879-3381 (toll-free)
Website: Minnesota Medical Cannabis Program