New Jersey Medical Marijuana Card Laws
June 17, 2016

New Jersey Medical Marijuana Card
In order to be afforded legal protection under the New Jersey Medical Marijuana law, qualified medical marijuana patients must register with the state patient registry and possess a valid state-issued identification card by submitting a medical marijuana card application to the New Jersey Department of Health and Senior Services “Medicinal Marijuana Program”.

A New Jersey medical marijuana card is an identification card issued by the DHSS, to a qualifying patient, personal caregiver, or dispensary agent. The New Jersey medical marijuana card verifies that the patient has received a written certification from a physician, stating that he or she may benefit from the medicinal use of marijuana, as per the qualifying medical conditions outlined by the State program.

For purposes of the DHSS, and law enforcement, the medical marijuana card serves to identify those patients who are exempt from New Jersey criminal and civil penalties, for conduct pursuant to the medical use of marijuana.

HOW TO GET A MEDICAL MARIJUANA CARD IN NEW JERSEY
As per the New Jersey Department of Health and Senior Services “Medicinal Marijuana Program“, the following outline serves as a guide on how to register for a medical marijuana card:

  1. Patients are required to obtain legitimate medical records or documentation from their primary care physician describing the diagnosis of their qualifying condition —
  2. Patients are required to obtain a signed Physician’s Statement from a physician, currently licensed to practice medicine in New Jersey — *Find a certified 
  3. Patients must be a resident in the state of New Jersey with proof of residency. If you do not have a New Jersey I.D. an out of state I.D., passport, or other photo I.D. with proof of residency such as bank statement, utility bill, etc is acceptable.
  4. To qualify, a patient needs to be diagnosed by a physician as having one of the following debilitating medical conditions that is specifically identified in the law:
  5. Once certified, the patient’s bona fide physician begins the patient’s online application process. The physician is required to provide the patient’s name, address, date of birth and debilitating medical condition. On submitting this information, a secure Patient ID is created. The physician shall provide a copy of the Patient ID to the patient, for him/her to complete his/her application with. Patients can either register on-line by clicking on “Patient Registration” (and entering the patient ID), or patients may completing their application and mail it to the MMP.
  6. The New Jersey Medical Marijuana Program Patient Registry is mandatory — all patients are required to register, in order to be ensured protection under the state’s medical marijuana laws.
  7. The patient registry application fee is $200 — cards are vaild for two years. For patients who qualify for state or federal assistance programs, the fee is $20.
  8. Submit applications to:

New Jersey Department of Health (DOH)
P. O. Box 360
Trenton, NJ 08625-0360
Phone: 609-292-0424
Email: New Jersey Medicinal Marijuana Program