Vermont Medical Marijuana Card Laws
June 17, 2016

Vermont Medical Marijuana Card
In order to be afforded legal protection under the Vermont Medical Marijuana law, as per the “Act Relating to Marijuana Use by Persons with Severe Illness”, qualified medical marijuana patients must register with the state patient registry and possess a valid state-issued identification card by submitting a medical marijuana card application to the Vermont Medical Marijuana Program (VMMP).

A Vermont medical marijuana card is an identification card issued by the Vermont Department of Public Health, to qualifying patients, personal caregivers, or dispensary agents. The Vermont medical marijuana card verifies that the patient has received a written certification from a physician, stating that he or she may benefit from the medicinal use of marijuana, as per the qualifying medical conditions outlined by the State program.

For purposes of the Department of Public Health, and law enforcement, the medical marijuana card serves to identify those patients who are exempt from Vermont criminal and civil penalties, for conduct pursuant to the medical use of marijuana.

HOW TO GET A MEDICAL MARIJUANA CARD IN VERMONT

As per the Vermont’s Department of Public Health, “Act Relating to Marijuana Use by Persons with Severe Illness”, the following outline serves as a guide on how to register for a medical marijuana card:

  1. Patients are required to obtain legitimate medical records or documentation from their primary care physician describing the diagnosis of their qualifying condition —
  2. Patients are required to obtain a signed Physician’s Statement from a physician, currently licensed to practice medicine in Rhode Island, New Hampshire, Massachusetts or New York  — *Find a certified 
  3. Patients must be a resident in the state of Vermont with proof of residency. If you do not have a Vermont I.D. an out of state I.D., passport, or other photo I.D. with proof of residency such as bank statement, utility bill, etc is acceptable.
  4. To qualify, a patient needs to be diagnosed by a physician as having one of the following debilitating medical conditions that is specifically identified in the law:
    • cancer; HIV/AIDS; multiple sclerosis;
    • or the treatment of these conditions if the disease or the treatment results in severe, persistent, and or more of the following intractable symptoms:
      • cachexia or wasting syndrome, severe pain, nausea, or seizures including those characteristic of epilepsy
  5. Once certified, all patient MUST complete an application form to register with the Vermont Patient Registry — registration is mandatory to be ensured protection under, Vermont’s medical marijuana law.
  6. The Vermont MMP does accept out of state registry cards, but only for the conditions approved by the Edward O. Hawkins and Thomas C. Slater Medical Marijuana Act.
  7. The Vermont Marijuana Patient Registry fee is $50.
  8. Patients are required to create a digital photograph of his / her in a .jpg format and copy the photo to a floppy disk or CD. Label the disk or CD with your name and date of birth and include it with your application.
  9. Patients are required to send their notarized application form, digital photo, Physician’s Medical Verification Form, and $50 application fee to:

Vermont Department of Public Health
Marijuana Registry
45 State Drive
Waterbury, VT 05671-1300
Phone: 802-241-5115
Fax: 802-241-5230
Email: DPS.MJRegistry@vermont.gov
Website: Vermont Marijuana Registry Program